



Comment on suggestions 17

Casey Sporting Clubs 2 pages Via email: FedRedistribution-VIC@aec.gov.au

Dear Committee,

As local community leaders in the Yarra Ranges, we are concerned about some submissions which seek to drastically change the seat of Casey as it stands today.

It is our view that by separating our region into four or five seats, as suggested in submissions 32, 42, 49 and 57, will ultimately divide and split our communities of interest.

We live in such a special region, with strong community, cultural, historical and social ties. Not only are these non-tangible ties such as our social and cultural links but tangible travel links through the three major highways – the Melba, Maroondah and Warburton Highways - which connect us to one another.

We note that several suggestions seek to move the seat of McEwen into Casey, particularly into the Yarra Valley. Whilst on a map these communities look to be in close proximity, there is almost no connection between our areas. For example sporting leagues, such as Outer East Football & Netball, Eastern Football Netball League and the Ringwood & District Cricket Association, do not have clubs which participate from the Christmas Hills, St Andrews and Hurstbridge areas.

Respectively, comments no.42 and 49 regarding public suggestions on the 2018 redistribution remain particularly pertinent to submissions that seek to split our region:

- "some suggestions seek to place Chirnside Park in a different electoral division, whereas the Council regards Chirnside Park as a 'Gateway' into the municipality and the Yarra Valley. These Gateways strengthen our identity, our culture and heritage and create a sense of belonging for our community – this should remain in the same electoral division as the rest of the Yarra Valley"
- "Lilydale-Chirnside Park area is an important link for the Yarra Valley and the Upper Yarra".

As local sporting clubs, we believe that by keeping our communities Chirnside Park, Coldstream, Healesville, Kilsyth, Lilydale, Millgrove, Monbulk, Mooroolbark, Mt Evelyn, Seville, Silvan, Wandin, Warburton and Yarra Glen represented in the one seat will ensure that our communities are best represented as well as keep our cultural and social interests together.

Thank you for taking the time to consider our comments on submissions received by the Committee.

Yours faithfully,

Joey Barrett President Chirnside Park Football Club

Toby Millman President Healesville Football Netball Club

Anthony Simmons President Lilydale Football & Netball Club

PJ Donald President Monbulk Junior Football Club

Tim Fogarty Co-President **Monbulk Cricket Club**

Craig Pretty Co-President **Mooroolbark Football Club**

Wayne Baker Secretary Seville Football Netball Club

Courtney O'Keefe Secretary Seville Junior Football Club

Melissa Lang President (Operations) Wandin Football Netball Club

Caroline Evans Treasurer **Yarra Glen Cricket Club** Ash Rankin President Coldstream Football & Netball Club

Shaun Goodwin President **Kilsyth Cricket Club**

Duncan Maher Co-President **Monbulk Cricket Club**

Grant Dennison President **Monbulk Football Netball Club**

Paul Utting President Monbulk Recreation Reserve Development Group

Ray Fellows President **Mt Evelyn Football Netball Club**

David Peel Secretary Seville Warburton Cricket Club

Charlie Caputo President **Silvan Football Club**

Bryce Edwards President Wandin Cricket Club